Bedtime Stories

Tonight’s bedtime chat was too cute to not share…

First, we had a busy weekend of 4 dance recitals:

IMG_7203.2 IMG_7192.2

So once the final one was done this afternoon, I figured Baby Girl just wasn’t exhausted enough by the recitals and suggested checking out a local ribfest.  You know those parking lot fairs?  Yep, one of those, but with a few good rib-providers.  Thankfully my guys both agreed that MY homemade ribs are better and they have yet to find ribs elsewhere better than what I provide.  That’s the way uh-huh, uh-huh, I like it…

944109_10151701398350185_1387641971_n[1] 971636_10151701400485185_1296176885_n[1]

Anyhoo, bedtime story, sorry for the digression.  Usually Baby Girl and I have a conversation that goes like this:

Me:  I love you SOOOOO much.  To infinity and back.  Bigger than the sun and the moon and the stars.

BG:  I love you too mommy.

Me:  How much? (Yeah, I’m insecure that way.)

BG:  As much as you love me. (She used to come up with all kinds of cute measurements of big-ness, but this kid is SMART and has finally come up with the best answer!)

Me:  That’s not possible!  Your little heart isn’t big enough yet to hold as much love in it as my big grown-up heart holds for you!

We then joke back and forth about who loves who the most-est.

Well, tonight, she clearly had her game on.  When I told her I loved her, SHE asked ME how much.  And I said “as much as you love me”.  Catching on quickly, she said with mock seriousness “That’s not possible!” just like I do.  She thought that was pretty funny, so I went on to tell her that when I was little, I used to ask MY mom how much SHE loved me, and she would say that I would only understand how much once I had a daughter of my own.

And of course she was right. (Damn, but this motherhood thing is proving MY mother right quite often…wipe that smug grin off your face, mom!)

So I told Baby Girl the same thing, except I added in the conditions that once she was done university and had a good job and was with someone who loved her and THEN had a daughter of her own, THEN she would understand how much I love her.  (No sense encouraging her to find out how much I love her when she’s just a teenager, right??)

So she asks me what university is.  I explained it’s a kind of school after high school where people go to learn how to do the kind of work they want to do when they grow up.

She tells me she wants to be a policewoman when she grows up.  (This is a new one, but fine with me, because she changes her mind every 2 days on this subject, and she’s only 5, so her university apps aren’t due for another 6 months or so…)

Then she asked ME what I want to be when I grow up!!

I could leave it here and it would be a cute story with a smiley ending.  But it gets better!  I told her I already WAS what I wanted to be when I grow up – a mommy.

She smiled at me.  And then said:

“When I grow up, I want to be a DADDY!”.

Leave a Reply

