My Crafty Halloween Decor

It’s Halloween season!

IMG_0242IMG_0211

I love to decorate our house for the various holidays and occasions – Easter, Christmas, Valentine’s Day and Halloween.  Well, maybe the truth is – I love buying the stuff and watching Huzbo put it up!

I think this means he loves my way of decorating too...

I think this means he loves my way of decorating too…

Over the years, we’ve collected quite an array of decorations for each occasion.  Some of them fancy and expensive-looking, some of them not-so-fancy and pretty obviously not expensive.

IMG_0251 IMG_0238 IMG_0240

IMG_0237 IMG_0245 IMG_0254Fall seems to be a time of year when even the craft-challenged folks like myself suddenly feel inspired to do some sort of crafty project.  I’m not sure why that is, but I’ve seen some incredible hand-made crafts on blogs for crafty people, and I am constantly amazed by the talent, creativity and patience of those who can fabricate these decorative items.

I used to feel guilty that I wasn’t crafty like that.  I don’t search sites looking for ideas of fun crafts to do with my kids.  I don’t wander the aisles at Michael’s, filling my buggy with components of some great creation I or my children can create together.

I am a Dollarama Mama.   And no, this is not a sponsored post for Dollarama, although if they want to send me a gift card in appreciation for the plug, I’d be happy to receive it!

I love Dollarama.  Do you know why?  Because they save me brain cells, time, energy and money.  They create these awesome little craft kits that provide the needed parts of a cute craft, and my kids just open the container and DO A CRAFT!  Plus, you can’t beat the price!  For $2 tops, I get an all-in-one-package hour’s worth of occupied time for my kidlets, parental participation optional, that I didn’t have to think of or shop for.

The results are pretty sweet too:

IMG_0206 IMG_0235

I went 6 years in my first marriage without a carved pumpkin or Halloween decoration, and the day after I met Huzbo, he came to my home to carve pumpkins with me, his newly-sharpened knives wrapped in a towel.  Smarter women might have been worried by that, but I thought it was romantic that he wanted to do something with me that I had missed out on for so long.  So romantic, in fact, that “Wanna carve some pumpkins???” has taken on a whole new meaning in our house since then, but that’s an entirely different post!

Happy Halloween everyone!  Enjoy your fun, no matter how you decorate or do your crafts!

IMG_0248 IMG_0208

If you liked this post, please swing over to the right side of your screen and follow my blog, so you get my new posts directly in your email inbox. While you’re there, why not also click the “Like” button for my Facebook fan page and hit the “Follow @PapayaJambalaya” button to follow me on Twitter? Yeah, that’s right – go ahead – stalk me. It’s all good. If you’re already stalking me or are going to -Thank you!

One thought on “My Crafty Halloween Decor

Leave a Reply

