The End of Lunch for Summer?

If I had a dollar for every time in the past week I’ve seen someone post on social media “Only X more days of making school lunches!” I’d be able to afford a caterer to make those lunches.

It seems that there is an epidemic of parents who really loathe making school lunches.

Here is what I have to say about that:

Is making a lunch each day such a big price to pay for six hours of free babysitting?

I think not.

And I’m not apologizing for that.

My first problem with this widespread whining about lunches is that the majority of school-aged children are fully capable of making their own lunches, people!

Yes – even my six year old daughter can slap some meat on bread, place a yogurt, apple, some carrot sticks and a drink in her lunch box – it’s not rocket science. If she needs help, we are usually in the same house as her to provide assistance or supervision.

Sure, if you want to heat up leftovers or cook something fresh, then perhaps six might be a bit young for that, but these are not lunch menus that happen every day in our home at least, so there’s no reason why children can’t at least help with their own lunch preparation regularly, if not make the entire lunch themselves.

Responsibility is good. The only way a child learns responsibility is to actually have it assigned to them.

Now, let’s talk about the bigger problem here:  all of you parents celebrating the end of lunchbox-filling – what exactly do you think your children will be eating throughout the summer between the meals of breakfast and dinner? Do you have some kind of special lunch-free summer arrangement with your child’s body? I ask this because my children actually eat lunch all summer long, not just during the school year. Sure, those lunches don’t have to go in a lunchbox that is currently so disgusting-looking that I would lose my appetite if I had to take food out of it to eat, but I signed up for the parenting plan that stipulated THREE meals a day. So I’m perplexed about this anticipation of school ending to have a break from making lunches. Do you parents in this category have a special summer lunch-maker service? Do your kids simply not eat lunch in the summers, their hunger under contractual agreement to make your life marginally easier for two months?

I am genuinely confused by this impending joy for a life without lunch-making. Do you people understand that when school is done for the summer, and you apparently don’t have to make lunches for two months – your children are at home with you ALL DAY for two months???

I love my kids, I really do, and I enjoy spending time with them, but if the only thing I have to do to have some time alone is make a lunch, or simply supervise or assist the making of a lunch – I’ll take the lunch prep with a smile on my face.

10490232_10152517758775185_933183560_n[1]

Thanks for reading my blog! Feel free to share it, and if you’d like to hear more from me, slide over to the right side of your screen and “Like” my Facebook page, follow me on Twitter and subscribe to get my latest post in your email inbox – yes, that’s right – stalk me!

10 thoughts on “The End of Lunch for Summer?

  1. I laugh at the “No more lunch!” stuff mostly because I think about the parents who – like me – don’t have the summer off: I’M STILL MAKING LUNCHES. I pack myself a lunch every day. It takes approximately 3 minutes to throw a handful of leftovers into a Tupperware container. And I applaud you for pointing out that kids can do things themselves – F is only four, but at least twice a week he makes his own salad from vegetables I prepare early in the week. If he wants a snack, he can almost always get it himself. Oh, and I pack a lunch for F every day even though I pay a small fortune for him to go to a Community Services-run preschool which serves two snacks and a full, nutritious lunch because he likes to have a little extra… and I’ll do that all summer long. 🙂

    • Exactly, Ashley! Even parents who do have the summer off with their kids obviously have to feed them! I get that lunches are a pain (my daughter doesn’t make her own…yet!) but it’s one of those “facts of life” that strike me as funny when people are counting down not having to put the lunches in a box! I’m sure it’s euphemistic talk for “Four more days ’til school ends!” but why can’t they just say that?!?! ; )-

  2. This is a hoot and a half. Yes, obviously, my plan is to starve Thing 1 & Thing 2 all summer because we are completely *that* evil. I also find beating them and singing off key to be effective disciplinary tools. (OMG! WHAT?!? Come on now.. Simpsons fans help me out here.) I kid. 😛

    The countdown is what it’s all about for us! I have chosen to post about the lunches, but it’s about counting down the days!

    Summer is our season and yes, I make no apologies for counting down lunches because, while it is awesome that kiddos have independence and can make their own lunches, you also have to take into account that not *every* kiddo has the same sensibilities, needs, abilities, etc. as your own. Heck! Even the two I have grown since forever, don’t have the same skill set. So.. there’s that. 🙂

    I LOVE that my kids are home with me for two months. Like, seriously, giddy, happiness overflowing *love*.

    To each his(her) own. 😀

    Oh, and just so you know we also have a 100% allergen diet in the summer for extra freedom and fun! PEANUT BUTTER ALL THE FOODS! 😀
    (Again, I’m kidding. Come on now. You know me better by now, don’t you?)
    (But real peanut butter sandwiches for lunch truly are a real treat after so many months of Wow Butter!)

    • LIKE! LOVE!!! Agree!!! It’s mostly about not making lunches here at 630am (and no I’m not making them the night before that’s crazy organized talk)

    • I actually considered putting a disclaimer in this post for all those who have or do say this, because so many of my social media friends have been putting it as a status! No offence was intended – everyone is free to express their happiness about school ending soon in whatever statements work for them! Mine is along the lines of “Oh no! Only 4 more days of freedom!” lol I was just having a laugh at how many people seem to be so happy to stop putting lunches in a box, but as you’ve pointed out – they still have to go on the table in whatever form appeals most! I also agree that not all kids are 100% mature and responsible enough to make their own lunches, but for those that really don’t like doing school lunches, it is an option to try to train their kids to help prepare their lunches, at least.

  3. I am one of those people.

    Nikki has a pretty good eating range but most of what she likes will not travel or last the morning in a lunch box.

    She loves pizza but won’t eat it cold.
    She loves pasta but hates it in a salad.
    Sandwiches? Nope.
    Wraps? Fuggetaboutit.

    So IF she didn’t HAVE to go to camp, my life would be easier. I could make a wide range of things at lunch. Instead, I’m down to noodles, noodles and more noodles in her thermos.

    So yeah, if I was a parent who didn’t have to send her to camp for the 9 of the 10 weeks of this summer vacation, I would TOTALLY be saying “WOOHOO NO MORE LUNCHES!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

