I Like Big Jokes, and I Cannot Lie

There sure are a LOT of songs on the radio these days that aren’t really suitable for children, aren’t there? One day I’m going to write a post on all of the child-inappropriate pop songs that I’ve had to explain to Baby Girl, but for today, I’m going to only discuss the gem by Sir Mix-A-Lot called “Baby Got Back.”

Love it or hate it, for those of us like myself who have got some serious junk in the trunk, the opening line of “I LIKE BIG BUTTS, and I cannot lie!” has become a bit of an ego-boosting anthem. It has always put a smile on my face, even though the rest of the lyrics are sexually gross, objectifying and misogynistic.

So it was rather ironic when today, driving in the car, this particular song came on and I instinctively turned it up and crowed out the opening lyrics in my shouty-singy voice.

I immediately realized the folly of this action. With Baby Girl listening intently in the back seat, I was prepared for questions along the lines of “Why does he like big butts, mommy?” and “What does he mean by that?” which are the usual awkward queries I have to field as a result of banishing kid-diddys when she was only two.

Instead, I got a treat – an unexpected peek at her emerging brilliant and subtly sarcastic humour:

Does the guy singing this song know you, mommy?

The layers of humour buried in that statement made me proud, despite the fact that she was basically telling me I have a fat ass.

There was an intentionality to her humour that signalled her growing awareness of the world at large and how to make fun of it.

Sometimes her comments strike me in the worst possible way. Like the time she told me my bum makes a wave every time she touches it. THAT was unintentionally ego-crushing.

Or like the time she was splashing around in the bath and I had disrobed to grab a quick shower simultaneously. She sized up my nekked carcass and matter-of-factly stated “You look nice with your clothes ON, mommy.”

Not “nicer.” Just “nice” – because “nicer” would have been an obvious insult.

I may not like my butt being the butt of so many of her jokes, but I do know she is quickly learning what makes me laugh.

And I love it.

10559220_10152568793000185_1426348704_n[1]

Thanks for reading my blog! Feel free to share it, and if you’d like to hear more from me, slide over to the right side of your screen and “Like” my Facebook page, follow me on Twitter and subscribe to get my latest post in your email inbox – yes, that’s right – stalk me!

You may also like reading my blog posts at Conceived in my Heart on YummyMummyClub.ca – check it out!

9 thoughts on “I Like Big Jokes, and I Cannot Lie

  1. Every time I hear that song all I can think about is Rachel and Ross singing it to baby Emma on “Friends”. That was laugh out loud funny!

    A kiddo with a sense of humour is a wonderful thing!

      • She is such a super cutie! I love the little glint in her eye when she smiles and when I see it I think, ‘Yup! I see Jackie in there!’

        Sometimes the Universe is an amazing place! 😀

    • I just LOL’d in the swimming lessons viewing area, Amy! Right?!? I definitely turned the volume WAY down (off) after the opening line, but I did end up attempting to explain what “whips and chains excite me” means, at McDonald’s one day because it was playing loudly on their Muzak system. SIGH.

  2. Oh, Jackie, laughing out loud at this post just as I was sighing at your post, The Realities of Transracial Adoption. Thank-you for sharing your thoughts, your laughs in such an excellent way. Tracey Wilson

Leave a Reply

