My Parting Gift to 2014

new-years-eve-2015-583216_640It’s the last day of 2014, and like many, my initial reaction to that statement is “THANK GOODNESS!”
However, I’ve also noticed that I’ve abandoned my online happiness/gratitude jar over the past few months, which have been some of the hardest months of my life, never mind 2014.
Is there a correlation?
Who knows, but I think rather than end the year dwelling on all the negative that 2014 brought, I’m going to lay down a few things I’m grateful for and happy about, in the superstitious hope that doing so will welcome in 2015 with some positive vibes.

1. I am grateful for my parents. I don’t know what I’d do without them. You think that once you become an adult and have a family of your own, you stop needing your parents, but as it turns out – I’ve needed them more than ever. I’m lucky to have parents who are such selfless, forgiving people who taught me to communicate openly and honestly. I’ve seen the very dark side of no communication, and it ain’t pretty.

2. I am thankful for my friends. Hard times often determine who your “true” friends are, but I am so very grateful for the support of those who have been there for me.

3. I am so blessed to have my daughter. Every day she teaches me so much and motivates me to be a better person.

4. I am happy that I have a luxurious home to live in and cupboards full of food. ALL the time. I have clean running water in my house and I have a car to drive me wherever I want to go. I live a life that so many people on our earth would love to live, even with my first-world problems and “hard” times.

5. I am so glad that I live in a country that is relatively safe, where I and others can worship however we choose, vote democratically, and love who we want to love without fear of persecution.

6. I am happy that 2014 has taught me some valuable lessons, most of them about having respect for myself and about learning to stop allowing others to have far too much influence over how I see myself. I’m not perfect, but in 2014 I allowed too many people to diminish my self-worth. I’m done with that.

7. I’m grateful that I’ve come to realize I am far too old for the drama and passive-aggressive games that others try to engage in. I am going to continue being myself, striving to be as kind as I can and keep trying to rise above the ridiculousness of others. There will always be wolves in sheep’s clothing, but I can simply ignore their shenanigans.

8. I’m thankful I still have hope. Hope that I will continue to learn important lessons and grow as a person. Hope that I will continue to build old relationships with those I care for and who care about me, as well as find new people who see the good stuff I offer. Most importantly, I have hope that 2015 will be a better year.

Happy New Year! I hope 2015 brings everyone exactly what they want it to bring.

4 thoughts on “My Parting Gift to 2014

  1. Love this, so many that I can relate to. I am so pleased to have met your acquaintance this year, you are an inspiration to me and those that should just open their eyes and let you in.
    Don’t ever let them dull your sparkle.
    Happy New Year xOxO

Leave a Reply

